MS Student Support

The Middle School Student Support Team is composed of the individuals listed on the right-hand side of this page.


Academic

Student learning needs are initially identified through individual teacher assessments, student progress meetings, a learning specialist or other administrator, or parental queries. Once a problem is identified, either Learning Specialist may evaluate the student for possible learning issues and identify in-class learning support strategies, additional learning support, and other interventions. If necessary, in conjunction with the SST, a recommendation might be made for further external evaluation. There are three tiers of academic support at the middle school level:

  • Subject Labs: These sessions are run by teachers to support classroom learning in English, Math, French, and Spanish.
  • After School Supervised Study: Supervised study provides organized, monitored study time for students, which includes support for organizational and study skills as well as assistance with homework and test preparation.
  • Tutoring: Families wishing to engage tutors should contact the learning specialist, who maintains a list of WIS-approved tutors.

Social/Emotional

  • A certified professional school counselor provides short-term individual counseling, crisis intervention, psychosocial assessment, and referral to outside services as needed.
  • Advisors meet with students for one hour per eight-day cycle in Grades 6-10, as well as for 10 minutes during homeroom.
  • Along with the division principal, assistant principal, teachers, and advisors, the counselor also provides psycho-education programs through life skills classes which meet once per eight-day cycle in Grades 6 and 7. Topics covered through these programs include depression and anxiety, relationships, communication, peer pressure, drugs, alcohol, stress management, conflict resolution, and sexual health.

KEY MS CONTACTS

Randy Althaus, Principal

randy.althaus@wis.edu

Eric Beck, Assistant Principal

eric.beck@wis.edu

Michaela Audette, Learning Specialist

michaela.audette@wis.edu
202.243.1685

Marilyn Wilson Odhiambo, Counselor

marilyn.wilsonodhiambo@wis.edu
202.243.1686

Grade-Level Coordinators

Kristin Gilliland, Grade 6

kristin.gilliland@wis.edu
202.243.1847

Amy Tong, Grade 7

amy.tong@wis.edu
202.243.1885

Emma Strauss & Allie Wilding, Grade 8

emma.strauss@wis.edu
202.495.7358
allie.wilding@wis.edu
202.243.1871