Middle School Student Support

The Middle School Student Support Team is composed of the individuals listed on the right-hand side of this page.


Academic

Student learning needs are initially identified through individual teacher assessments, student progress meetings, a learning specialist or other administrator, or parental queries. Once a problem is identified, either Learning Specialist may evaluate the student for possible learning issues and identify in-class learning support strategies, additional learning support, and other interventions. If necessary, in conjunction with the SST, a recommendation might be made for further external evaluation. There are three tiers of academic support at the middle school level:

  • Subject Labs: These sessions are run by teachers to support classroom learning in English, Math, French, and Spanish.
  • After School Supervised Study: Supervised study provides organized, monitored study time for students, which includes support for organizational and study skills as well as assistance with homework and test preparation.
  • Learning Lab: During these sessions, students receive one-to-one tutoring in sciences, languages, organization, writing, and math.

Social/Emotional

  • A certified professional school counselor provides short-term individual counseling, crisis intervention, psychosocial assessment, and referral to outside services as needed.
  • Advisors meet with students for one hour per eight-day cycle in Grades 6-10, as well as for 10 minutes during homeroom.
  • Along with the division principal, dean of students, teachers, and advisors, the counselor also provides psycho-education programs through life skills classes which meet once per eight-day cycle in Grades 6 and 7. Topics covered through these programs include depression and anxiety, relationships, communication, peer pressure, drugs, alcohol, stress management, conflict resolution, and sexual health.
MIDDLE SCHOOL CONTACTS

Randy Althaus, Principal

randy.althaus@wis.edu

Eric Beck, Dean of Students

eric.beck@wis.edu

Heidi Bachman, Learning Specialist

heidi.bachman@wis.edu
202.243.1685

Marilyn Wilson Odhiambo, Counselor

marilyn.wilsonodhiambo@wis.edu
202.243.1686

Jeanne Romilly, Health Coordinator

jeanne.romilly@wis.edu
202.495.7301


MS Grade Level Coordinators

Kristin Gilliland, 6th Grade

kristin.gilliland@wis.edu
202.243.1847
 

Amy Tong, 7th Grade

amy.tong@wis.edu
202.243.1885

Emma Strauss & Allie Wilding, 8th Grade

emma.strauss@wis.edu; 202.495.7358
allie.wilding@wis.edu; 202.243.1871
powered by finalsite